Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Jonas Og Einar - 1972 - Gypsy Queen

Jonas Og Einar
Gypsy Queen

01. On A Riverboat   
02. Sweet Lady   
03. I Just Want Your Love   
04. A Song For Christine   
05. Gypsy Queen   
06. Look At All Those People   
07. Freedom For Our Lovin'   
08. See The Sun   
09. Music-Forest   
10. How Can We Know God Is Real?   
11. Lucky Day   
12. Gypsy Queen

Jónas R. Jónasson (vocals, flute, accordion, percussion)
Einar Vilberg Hjartarson (vocals, guitars)
Timmy Donald (drums, congas)
Sigurdur Arnason (bass)

Einar Vilberg started in the music business quit early, born in Reykjavik Iceland 1950. He started writing songs at the age of 14. Einars first appearance as a musician was as a singer in a school band called the "Beatnicks", (note the take off on the Beatles!!) In 1969 he flew to London England to cut his first record, (there where no recording studios in Iceland at that time) playing the role of songwriter and guitar player on a single called Insane world, an anti war project sung by one of Iceland’s most popular singer at that time.

Next year Einar provided songs and guitar playing on two more singles sung by prominent Icelandic artists. In 1972 after playing in different groups and doing some television shows Einar made the LP Gypsy Queen writing the lyrics and the songs.

1 comment: