Saturday, May 30, 2015

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. - 2013 - In Search Of The Lost Divine Arc

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O.
In Search Of The Lost Divine Arc

01. Space Speed Suicide (5:01)
02. Born Free Stone Free (16:49)
03. Skillfiul Grinning Skull (4:57)
04. Escape Horoscopes (2:57)
05. Babe, I'm gonna Reave You (7:24)
06. In Search of Lost Divine Ark (19:32)

- Tsuyama Atsushi / bass, voice, flute, pipe
- Higashi Hiroshi / synthesizer
- Shimura Koji / drums
- Tabata Mitsuru / guitar, guitar-synthesizer, maratab
- Kawabata Makoto / guitar, bouzouki, electric sitar, hurdy gurdy

Seeing Acid Mothers Temple on stage, you get an air of calm from the band, they're very comfortable up there, and they playfully unleash a sonic menagerie of sounds that wash over and bounce around everywhere. Sometimes a bit slower and in droning fashion, and at other times loud and strong. This recent LP "In Search of Lost Divine Ark" starts out as if the gas pedal is all the way down. The first song "Space Speed Suicide" starts everything with a huge roar, a loud Hawkwind-esque barrage of distortion and pulsating solo guitar rants. An as usual spacey quality surrounds the tracks here, which are all strong numbers, the extended "Born Free Stone Free" and "In Search of Lost Divine Ark" being standouts. The former tune is reminiscent of recent work by Master Musicians of Bukkake.

Perhaps part of it's strength comes from being released on experimental music label Important Records. First issues came on beautiful light blue swirled vinyl, with second pressings being on black. The LP packaging is stunning in addition, with an uncoated thick stock gatefold cover with wonderful, rather subdued and minimal, artwork than what they usually produce for their releases. Will hope for much more of this sort of thing from them in the future. Highly recommended.

1 comment: