Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso - U.F.O -. 2009 Are We Experimental?

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O.
Are We Experimental?

01. E.S.P. (Experimental Spooky Peace) (04:25)
02. 40000000000000000 Love Hotel (06:51)
03. Daruma Clause in Opposition (07:26)
04. Wired Stinky Pussy Luver (07:15)
05. Hallelujah Mystic Garden (01:31)
06. Iyomange of the Rising Sun (05:03)
07. Close Encounters of the Electric Cspirits (02:44)
08. Holy Rock'n'roll Bible (06:43)
09. Goodbye Big Asshole Emmanuelle (03:38)
10. Ultimate Unhip Blues (08:09)
11. Are We Experimental? (03:15)

- Makoto Kawabata / electric guitar, organ, percussion, rhythm machine, speed guru
- Atsushi Tsuyama / monster bass, voice, cosmic joker
- Hiroshi Higashi / synthesizer
- Koji Shimura / drums, latino cool

On their Spring 2009 US Tour, Acid Mothers Temple's Atsushi Tsuyama started the show by reapeatedly asking the audience "Are We Experimental?" This question has led me to ponder what exactly "experimental" music is in the 21st century. More than 80 years since the earliest electric instruments were introduced, and 50 since electronic instruments first hit the scene, it seems that the experiments have already been done. I have never really considered Acid Mothers Temple to be "experimental." While they break virtually every rule of music with their often cacophonous noise (anchored by moments of beauty), it seems that AMT are simply doing what they do.

On this disc, AMT ask that same question. The opening three tracks contain hints of 20th Century Minimalist Works, like Terry Riley's Terry Riley in C and Steve Reich's Music for 18 Musicians, but if these works were played under blistering guitar lines. After these tracks the disc turns to a fairly standard guitar noise freak out for the middle section. One surprise for me was the fairly straight jazz chording that opens, Goodbye Big Asshole Emmanuelle, and the fact that the closer and title track is the least experimental, a basic acoustic song written and sung by Tsuyama.



  2. Many thanks for your huge efforts. I was always looking for AMT's ouevre in one bunch. This is an incredible band.