Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. - 2007 - Nam Myo Ho Ren Ge Kyo

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O.
Nam Myo Ho Ren Ge Kyo

01. Nam Myo Ho Ren Ge Kyo (65:15)

- Kitagawa Hao / Vocals, Thermin, Hot Spice & Alcohol
- Tsuyama Atsushi / Bass, Voice, Cosmic Joker
- Higashi Hiroshi / Synthesizer, Guitar, Dancin' King
- Shimura Koji / Drums, Latino Cool
- Kawabata Makoto / Guitar, Speed Guru

 The album is one big, long, usually meditative track with synths, acoustic guitar, and even bells present. Laid back is not a term generally associated with Acid Mothers Temple, as far as I know, but it usually fits here. I say usually because sometimes the band does what they're most well known for - freak out. Near the end especially, there is one big, crazy, improvised bit with guitar/sax/drums/everything going all out.

The album is named after a Buddhist chant, and after some quick searching, I've found that it "is the title and the heart of the Lotus Sutra, and it is the Law that explains the workings of life." A lofty premise for an album, that's for sure. Throughout the album, this is repeated on and off by the vocalists, and it serves to give it a sort of mystical feeling.

The only part of this album which I don't like very much is the section right after the freak out I mentioned earlier - it's a solo synth I believe, and often the tone is ear-splittingly high. Still, it doesn't last very long and doesn't constitute very much of the album. After that part there's a short bit with all/most of the band singing "Lala la la la la la la, Nam Myo Ho Ren Ge Kyo" a capella - an unexpected end to a very good album. Not a masterpiece, but still a great addition to your collection.

1 comment: