Monday, May 25, 2015

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. - 2002 - Electric Heavyland

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O.
Electric Heavyland

01. Atomic Rotary Grinding God (15:43)
02. Loved And Confused (17:02)
03. Phantom Of Galactic Magnum (18:57)

- Cotton Casino / vocals, synthesizer, beer & cigarette
- Tsuyama Atsushi / monster bass, cosmic joker
- Higashi Hiroshi / synthesizers, dancin' king
- Koizumi Hajime / drums, sleeping monk
- Kawabata Makoto / guitars, speed guru

There are many words to describe this album. For me I would describe it as an explosive, out-of-this-world, epic, colorful, experimental, trippy, heavy 60s record!!! It sounds like an album Jimi Hendrix recorded, and was terrified of releasing, that fans would no longer go to his concerts. ;)

"Electric Heavyland" for me, on my first listen, is very listenable. I know it may sound strange to say, but as a guitarist, I find this record to be somewhat like something I would have recorded for fun. I love messing with the wammy bars on my guitars and making crazy 'acid rock' sounds on my amplifier.

Anyways, the three songs on here are pretty heavy psychedelic rock tunes. It sounds as if it could have been recorded by a bunch of hippie-freaks during the time, and it works very well as an experimental, non-stop, progressive psychedelic rock throughout. There are vocals in the background of the music, and sounds almost like Yoko Ono is shrieking in these songs.

So, if you like hearing improvisations and just heavy acid rock jams with noisy guitars, this may be an album for you. It certainly caught my attention and interest. This album is not for everyone though.

1 comment: