Friday, April 10, 2015

ZAO - 1976 - Live 76

Live 76

01. Shardaz (9:41)
02. Isis (8:07)
03. Tserouf (6:36)
04. Sadie (5:17)
05. Zohar (9:46)
06. Improcol (19:28)
07. Jumelles (6:39)
08. Kabal (4:57)

- Francois Cahen / piano & synthesizers
- Didier Lockwood / violin
- Gerard Prevost / bass
- Jean-My Truong / drums & percussion

This is an outstanding live performance done shortly after Yochk'o Seffer left the band. Didier Lockwood provides his usual excellence on violin, and Jean My-Truong is absolutely outstanding on drums. The whole band breathes a high level of energy into tracks from the first four Zao albums - in particular you can hear this in the performance of "Isis", where this author found the studio recording a bit lackluster and flat. The one downside of this album (and certainly why it can't get 5 stars) is that the audio quality is barely tolerable - particularly on "Improcol" where it threatens to almost drop off completely - pretty much bootleg quality throughout. Still, highly recommended for jazz-rock and zeuhl fans.



  2. Hi Drago - this one is also broken.

    Server Failed

    This file is no longer available due to an unexpected server error. If you are the owner of this file, it will need to be re-uploaded.

    Please contact support if you require further assistance.