Saturday, April 18, 2015

Cy, Maia & Robert - 1966 - On the Scene

Cy, Maia & Robert
On the Scene

01. A Church Is Burning   
02. Two Brothers
03. The Other Day   
04. Cannot Keep From Crying   
05. Aziza
06. Flowers Never Bend With The Rainfall   
07. Daddy Roll 'Em
08. Rocking The Cradle
09. The Water Is Wide
10. Moonshiner
11. Whoa Back Buck
12. I've Been On The Road

Guitar, Vocals – Cy Nicklin
Guitar, Vocals - Robert Lelievre
Vocals – Maia Aarskov

Featuring Cy Nicklin of Culpepers Orchard & Robert Lelievre of Pan.

The two-man, one-woman Danish trio of Cy, Maia & Robert recorded both acoustic folk and quirky pop-folk-rock albums in the mid-'60s. Comprised of Cy Nicklin, Maia Aarskov, and Robert Lelievre, their albums for the Sonet label are little-known to English-speaking audiences, though they're sung entirely in English and obviously primarily inspired by American folk influences. The threesome was pretty much a Peter, Paul & Mary kind of act on their On the Scene album, but moved into more pop and rock-flavored arrangements on the subsequent Out of Our Times. That LP has some interest for 1960s folk and folk-rock aficionados, not so much because of the quality of the songs and singing (which are okay), but for its unusual blend of bits and pieces of folk boom harmonizers like Peter, Paul & Mary, pop-folk stars like the Seekers, folk rockers like the Mamas & the Papas, some jazz-pop-style harmonies, and some almost sunshine pop-like orchestration from time to time.

1 comment: