Saturday, March 7, 2015

Los Jaivas - 1995 - Hijos De La Tierra

Los Jaivas
Hijos De La Tierra

01. Hijos De La Tierra
02. Arde El Amazonas
03. Litoraleña
04. En El Tren De Paysandú
05. Tan Lejos Del Sol
06. Lluvia De Estrellas
07. Virgen Del Amor
08. Bosques Virginales
09. Nubecita Blanca

- Gato Alquinta / lead vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, quena, trutruca, kultrum, trumpet
- Juanita Parra / drums, pandereta, jam block, backing vocals
- Claudio Parra / piano, keyboards, backing vocals
- Eduardo Parra / keyboards, backing vocals
- Fernando Flores / bass, charango, citara, trutruca, cacho, kultrum, bongo, huiro, triangle, percussion, backing vocals

Guest musicians:
- Aurora Alquinta / backing vocals (1, 5)
- Queta Rivero / backing vocals (1)
- Marta Contreras, Mariana Montavlo / backing vocals (5)

 This is a comeback album from 1995, with much-loved drummer Gabriel Parra having died in a car accident in 1989. Here he is replaced by his daughter Juanita whojoins her uncles Eduardo and Claudio and lead vocalist Gato Alquinta. Unfortunately, for a large portion of its running time, Hijos De La Tierra (Children of the Earth) is a very safe album, sounding more like the Gypsy Kings or 90s Santana than classic Los Jaivas! The only real nod to the once great tradition of the band's music comes towards the end with an engrossing epic Bosques Virginales which contains more than a hint of past glory.

It would take a brave prog fan to stick it out that far though, because there are many tedious and a few turgid moments along the way. Arde El Amazonas for example, is for the most part, rubbish, with some truly awful dated synths! There are some moments of promise, as on Litoralena, but generally they peter out. There is certainly not much instrumental excitement of speak of either, and while some of the performances like En El Tren Da Paysandu are passionate, the material is rarely challenge and mostly too damn ordinary!

The languid pace of Tan Lejos Del Sol and Lluvia De Estrellas, both of which seriously overstay their welcome, doesn't help matters either, because it ensures that there are times when this record is really, really lifeless! Thankfully towards the tail end of the album, Bosque Virginales offers the beleaguered listener some respite. Building up an atmosphere with synth brass sounds, before an insistent rhythm leads into the unusual vocal melody. String synths are then the order of the day, and finally some powerful lead guitar playing rules the roost. The dynamic interaction of the band is particularly pleasing and reveals just how much they have kept in reserve on the other songs!



  2. Deep Purple Long Beach 1971:

    01- Speed King 11:04
    02- Strange Kind of Woman 11:11
    03- Child in Time 20:24
    04- Mandrake Root 27:17