Sunday, March 22, 2015

Ekseption - 1975 - Mind Mirror

Mind Mirror

01. Pick up the pieces (6:05)
02. Bourree (3:14)
03. Tramontane (4:17)
04. Electric swamp (4:04)
05. Ramses (1:00)
06. Mindmirror (17:28)

Line-up / Musicians
- Rein van den Broek / trumpet
- Jan Vennik / saxophones, flute
- Cor Dekker / bass guitar
- Pieter Voogt / drums, percussion
- Hans Jansen / keyboards

- Ramses Shaffy / voice on "Ramses"

This is the second album of Ekseption without Rick van der Linden, and it is better than their previous one which sounded a bit 'dull'. The opening track is a track from the Average White Band, 'Pick up the pieces', followed by an inspired arrangement of Bach's Bourree by Hans Hollestelle, the guitarist of the band, Jan Vennik and Hans Jansen. I can't help wondering what the track 'Ramses' is doing on the album; it's a short track with some spoken text from Ramses Shaffy. The longest piece of the album (a little over 17 minutes) is the title track, 'Mindmirror'. It's a piece of music that is very pleasant to listen to, and all in all this album (although it failed to achieve the same commercial success as previous Ekseption albums), although not excelling, is not a bad one either. After this record one more album was released by Ekseption without Rick van der Linden, 'Back to the classics'. The members wanted to get away from the typical Ekseption formula, so they simply broke up Ekseption, re-baptised themselves 'Spin', and recorded two (good) albums under that name.



  2. Obrigado DRAGO por compartilhar seus ótimos arquivos.
    Seu Blog é ótimo.