Monday, March 16, 2015

Daevid Allen's University of Errors - 2000 - E2X10=Tenure

Daevid Allen's University of Errors 

01. Iced Tea Overture (3:03)
02. If You Are Changing (5:23)
03. Ocean In The Distance (4:59)
04. Ocean Motha (9:15)
05. Olde Guitar Body O' Mine (3:27)
06. Innesfree (7:01)
07. One Mother Of Pearl (5:59)
08. Pinky's Party Song (3:15)
09. Good Evening Ned Kelly (4:14)

- Daevid Allen / guitar, vocals
- Josh Pollock / guitar
- Erik Pearson / guitar, sax, banjo
- Jay Radford / guitar, synths
- Michael Clare / bass
- Pat Thomas / drums

- Beth Custer / clarinet (4)

This CD is actually the best and most well rounded of the first three Daevid's Allen University of Errors recordings. Long time Gong fans need to except that this is University of Errors and NOT Gong. However...
There are times on THIS record where I feel that Daevid is reaching further into his heart and soul. Compared to the others, the song writing here is excellent. He even has hints of some of the conceptual ideas he first presented on his Good Morning solo album back in 1976. But again, this is NOT 1976 and this is NOT the Good Morning album or sessions. It is good though.
It should be noted that after the first few cuts, this recording is mellower and for me, more thought provoking. Worthy spin!

1 comment: