Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Sage - 1970 - Sage By Sage

Sage By Sage

01. My Girl - 3.10
02. Lovely Lady - 4.06
03. Don´t Stop Loving Me - 4.09
04. No One But You - 3.52
05. I´m Satisfied With You - 3.26
06. I Believe In You - 4.26
07. Morning Dove - 5.54

John Cameron - guitar
Hilda Williers - bass
Ray Williers - guitar
Rodger Stephan – drums

This ultra-rare album of psyche and southern rock from Miami outfit, Sage, Sage By Sage appeared on the Illusion label (CM2004) in 1970. Not much is known about either the band or its label, although it is widely rumoured that Illusion was some sort of a tax scam with albums by Sage and stable mates Hopney being given away or destroyed immediately upon release. There probably is more than just a small grain of truth in this rumour, as this particular album is spectacularly rare and almost never comes up for sale. Sage By Sage is a strong album with some first-rate playing and excellent song writing. There's the decidedly southern boogie feel of the Allman Brothers about much of the instrumentation on the album, with the songs being reminiscent of, amongst others, Dr Hook or the Sutherland Brothers."

1 comment: