Sunday, February 1, 2015

Primevil - 1974 - Smokin' Bats at Campton's

Smokin' Bats at Campton's

01. Leavin’
02. Progress
03. Fantasies
04. Pretty Woman
05. Tell Me If You Can
06. Hey, Lover
07. High Steppin’ Stomper
08. Your Blues

Dave Campton (vocals)
Larry Lucas (guitar)
Jay Wilfong (guitar)
Mark Sipe (bass)
Mel Cupp (drums)

On the same famous Indianapolis underground label that also gave us Zerfas, this 700 West production by Primevil is a good example of early 70s hard rock with progressive tendencies. In fact the first track ‘Leavin’’ has the same kind of gritty post-blues rock (with intelligent breaks) as the first Rush album. And you can hear some “Caress of Steel” on the 6 minute instrumental ‘Fantasies’. Plenty of great guitar work throughout, a hallmark of the Midwest hard rock scene, for which this album fits oh-so-comfortably. Not to mention the tough-guy vocals and the drummer bashing the crap out of his kit. One of the better albums in the style. For appropriate atmosphere in listening, be sure to obtain a 70’s vintage can of Falstaff (preferably brewed in Ft. Wayne) and sit on some shag carpet.