Monday, February 23, 2015

Popol Vuh - 1974 - Einsjäger & Siebenjäger

Popol Vuh
Einsjäger & Siebenjäger

01. Kleiner Krieger (1:05)
02. King Minos (4:30)
03. Morgengruß (2:55)
04. Würfelspiel (3:00)
05. Gutes Land (5:13)
06. Einsjäger & Siebenjäger (19:30)

- Florian Fricke / piano, spinet
- Daniel Fichelscher / acoustic & electric guitars, percussion
- Djung Yun / vocals

Einsjäger & Siebenjäger represents the typical signature of Popol Vuh's best years. Guitar circular riffs, calm reflective solos with piano emotional, discreet parts (as it was floating in the sky). As usual and hopefully the band delivers a very peaceful, humanistic music directed to the wonderful, quiet, introspect moments of life. This album can be played to evoke the mental inner landscapes we can dream about, the eyes closed. The first track (recorded later for the Nosferatu's album) contains a mystical repetitive guitar pattern played as a sitar drone. "King Minos" (also included in the Nosferatu's compilation) is a landmark of the band at its most progressive rock moments. It consists of a floating, pleasant and tremendous electric guitar's exercises illustrated by Fichelscher very characteristic guitar playing. The following tunes globally pursue the same scheme, sometimes bringing to the fore Florian Fricke's delicate, dreamy piano notes. A fine album, well recommended for completists. A nice introduction to the band's musical career.


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Hey,

    Thanks for all the work you put into this blog, it's much appreciated!
    FileFactory says this file has been deleted though, could you reupload it if you have the time?
    Sorry to bother you with this.