Friday, February 27, 2015

Pescado Rabioso - 1972 - Desatormentándonos

Pescado Rabioso

01. Blues De Cris   
02. El Jardinero (Temprano Amanecio)   
03. Dulce 3 Nocturno   
04. El Monstruo De La Laguna   
05. Serpiente (Viaja Por La Sal)

Luis Alberto Spinetta (guitar, vocals)
Black "Negro" Amaya (drums)
Bocón Frascino (bass, guitar, vocals)

After Almendra broke up, Luis Alberto Spinetta recorded his legendary first solo album and left for Europe. Back in Buenos Aires, he formed a trio to perform stronger acid-related music with Osvaldo "Bocón" Frascino on bass and Juan Carlos "Black" Amaya (ex-Pappo's Blues) on drums.

click to enlarge The dreamy psychedelic cover –drawn by Jorge Visñovesky and originally released with a poster insert including the group's Statement of Principles– was the preamble of Desatormentándonos, their first superb album. (Note: future reissues lacked the insert.)

Side A, a.k.a. "Damas" ("Ladies") opens with "Blues de Cris", a powerful hard-blues led by Spinetta's guitar and dedicated to the same girl that inspired him for the sweet "Muchacha ojos de papel" (his most famous song) but this time to say goodbye. "El jardinero (temprano amaneció)" is a long psycho song full of effects and distorted guitars. On the other hand, "Dulce 3 nocturno" sung by Spinetta and Bocón is a beautiful and relaxing tune.

Side B, a.k.a. "Caballeros" ("Gentlemen") begins with "Algo flota en la laguna" –another distorted guitar psycho song– and ends with the enigmatic "Serpiente (viaja por la sal)" featuring Carlos Cutaia (soon to join the group) on Hammond organ. A must!

Bocón left and was replaced by David Lebón (ex-Pappo's Blues and Color Humano) on bass. With this new line-up, Pescado Rabioso released an excellent hard-rock single: "Post-crucifixión" b/w "Despiértate nena". During a show at the Olimpia Theatre of Buenos Aires, the quartet was filmed performing the single for the movie Rock hasta que se ponga el sol. These live versions, included on the soundtrack album (Talent I-382), are even better than the studio ones!

1 comment: