Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Lighthouse - 1971 - Thoughts Of Moving On

Thoughts Of Moving On

01. Take It Slow (Out In The Country)
02. What Gives You The Right
03. You And Me
04. Fly My Airplane
05. I'd Be So Happy
06. I Just Wanna Be Your Friend
07. I'm Gonna Try To Make It
08. Rockin' Chair
09. Walk Me Down
10. Insane

- Richard Armin / electric cello
- Ralph Cole / Guitar, Vocals
- Don Dinovo / Viola, Violin (Electric)
- Paul Hoffert / Keyboards, Vibraphone
- Keith Jollimore / Flute, Saxophone, Vocals, Wind
- Mike Malone / Trumpet, Flugelhorn
- Bobby McBride / Percussion, Vocals
- Skip Prokop / Guitar, Percussion, Drums, Vocals
- Howard Shore / Flute, Saxophone, Vocals
- Larry Smith / Trombone, Vocals
- Louis Yacknin / Bass

"Thoughts of moving on" was the first album I bought by Lighthouse, way back in the early 1970's. It quickly become a personal favourite, the strong harmonies and exciting use of a full brass section of this Canadian outfit offering a unique alternative to the music then being made by British bands.

The album neatly spits in two halves, with side one generally containing the upbeat numbers, and side two the ballads and powerful slower songs.

The opening "Take it slow" was released as a reasonably successful single in the US and Canada, the strong hook making it the obvious choice. "Fly my aeroplane", "Rockin' chair" and "What gives you the right" continue the upbeat radio friendly pop rock sound the band had adopted for the previous album ("One fine morning"). "I just wanna be your friend" was also released as a single, the Three Dog Night like harmonic arrangement making for an instantly appealing, if largely unchallenging song.

"Walk me down" sees the pace drop for this delicate ballad with lush mellotron orchestration. The late Bob McBride's vocal here is one of the finest he recorded during his time with the band. The track sets the mood for much of the second side, which has the longer, generally slower songs. "You and me" is another reflective ballad with good keyboard work and a CSNY sound. The track plays out with some nice flute.

If side was primarily upbeat, with one ballad, side two's softer atmosphere is interrupted by the Russ Ballard like "Insane". "I'd be so happy" is a wonderful power ballad which the aforementioned Three Dog Night truncated and included on their "Hard Labor" album. The strong song writing here is complemented by a superb arrangement. The album closes with "I'm gonna try to make it", another reflective piece featuring a strong brass arrangement and melodic harmonies.

"Thoughts of moving on" does exactly what it says on the tin. It finds Lighthouse moving in a more commercial direction while retaining their emphasis on strong arrangements and tight performances. While the album does not offer anything particularly challenging it does represent a highly enjoyable experience.


  1. http://www.filefactory.com/file/2l64111r0wnx/1857.rar

  2. Lighthouse used no Mellotron! There were 2 live bowed string players in the band (4 on the first three albums, but this is album #5).