Monday, February 9, 2015

January Tyme - 1970 - First Time From Memphis

January Tyme
First Time From Memphis

01.Rainy Day Feeling
02.The Music
03.Sleepy Time Baby
04.Ancient Babylon
05.Hold Me Up To The Light
06.Love Is Blind
07.Are You Laughing
08.Down To The River
09.I Could Never Love You
10.Take This Time
11.Love Surrounds Me

January Tyme - lead vocals, keyboards, percussion
Anthony Mony Izzo - guitar, vocals
William Brancaccio - guitar, keyboards, vocals
Steve Ciantro - bass
Alan Cooley - drums, vocals

January Tyme was a New York band formed around the in-your-face vocal work of Janis Joplin-wannabe January Tyme. The band consisted of Tyme on lead vocals, keyboards, and percussion; Anthony Izzo on vocals and lead guitar; William Brancaccio on rhythm guitar, vocals, and keyboards; Steve Ciantro on bass; and Allen Cooley on drums and vocals. In 1969 the band released their only album for the Enterprise label, titled First Time from Memphis. Falling somewhere between Jefferson Airplane and Big Brother and the Holding Company style of music, the band failed to establish their own identity. Despite their songwriting competence and energetic performance on the 11 songs on this album, January Tyme faded into rock obscurity.

1 comment: