Sunday, February 8, 2015

Hammer - 1970 - Hammer


01 Something Easy
02 Hot and Cold
03 Tuane
04 You May Never Wake up (Apologies to Auden & Frost)
05 Hangover Horns
06 Charity Taylor
07 Sad Song, Happy Song
08 Sweet Sunday Morning
09 Pains and Tears
10 Death to a King

 John De Roberts - vocal
Jack O'Brien - guitar
Norman Landsberg - keyboards
Ritchie McBride - bass
John Guerin - drums
Ken Janick - drums on track 6

Bay Area groove-rock combo Hammer comprised singer John DeRoberts, guitarist Jack O'Brien, bassist Richie McBride, keyboardist Norman Landsberg, and drummer John Guerin. Formed in 1969, the group was quickly signed by legendary promoter Bill Graham to his fledgling San Francisco Records label -- their self-titled debut LP appeared in 1970, supported by a series of high-profile opening dates at Graham's Fillmore venues. Despite strong critical notices, Hammer failed to earn much commercial attention, and although a second album was recorded, it was never released and the band dissolved. While Landsberg later collaborated with the Pointer Sisters, Guerin went on to co-found the pioneering fusion unit L.A. Express -- a prolific session drummer, he also played on Joni Mitchell's seminal Court and Spark and The Hissing of Summer Lawns sessions.

1 comment: