Monday, February 23, 2015

Guru Guru - 1979 - Hey Du

Guru Guru
Hey Du!

01. Starway (4:52)
02. Dös War I (4:04)
03. Was Für 'ne Welt (4:59)
04. Giri Fushi(4:00)
05. Hey Du (4:27)
06. Taoma (6:10)
07. Atommolch (9:24)
08. I Am Rolling Through The City* (7:21)

- Ingo Bischof / keyboards
- Butze Fischer / percussion, drums
- Gerald Luciano Hartwig / bass
- Mani Neumeier / drums, percussion, vocals
- Roland Schaeffer / sax, synthesizer, guitar, vocals

guest musicians:
- Peter Kühmstedt / bass
- Karla Maria von Sinnen (Helmut Hattler) / bass

The album 'Heydu !' is Guru Guru's last offering from the fantastic 70's decade. This time around we have a diverse mix of styles from Jazz-Rock to straight ahead Rock/Pop and even some honest attempts at keeping the 'Krautrock' torch aflame. Even if the album plays through a little uneven, it tends to draw the listener in with its fascinating array of ideas. Starting off with an Ingo Bischof song (Ingo, splitting Keyboard duties and Composition between KRAAN and Guru Guru) 'Starway', almost suggests the band have taken on a distinctively late-70's Disco direction, but beneath the surface, a very cosmic vibe can be felt. A very clear and faithful production to the track is immediately discernable, giving the impression of a band keeping up with the times. This opening track is quite deceiving, granted that it's more a tightly performed 'song' rather than a complex instrumental statement. 'Dos War I' cranks up the 'funky' element a bit, and features guest Hellmut Hattler on Bass, going under the pseudonym of 'Karla Maria Von Sinnen'. This tune is very much in line with the style of music Kraan were offering, and features a fine Guitar solo from Roland Schaeffer (previously Sax player of Kraut-Jazz/Canterbury band 'BRAINSTORM'). 'Was Fur 'Ne Welt' carries on with the funky baton, but extends it into a lovely, jazzy jam with interesting melodies and great interplay between the Sax and Electric Piano. First side finishes up with the exotic sounding 'Giri Fushi', an engaging piece relying heavily on percussion. It also incorporates tropical bird sounds/jungle noises and some ethereal Guitaring - here's a thought ; this tune sounds like a Kraut version of Osibisa !! The 2nd side kicks off with the title song 'Heydu !' - a commercial sounding, German Pop-song with up-lifting melodies and a positive aura. The song also displays a degree of humour. 'Taoma' is a lengthy instrumental with a laid-back Jazz-Rock styling, reminding me of the later Ashra grooves (circa 'Correlations') and shows-off some blissful Soprano Sax playing and tasteful E-Piano and Mini-Moog solos from Bischof, which wouldn't be out-of-place on a Return To Forever album. The final 'monster' track 'Atommolch', is a trippy, spaced-out extravaganza - a faithful Krautrock creation with a strobe-like rhythm, distorted, slowed-down vocals (which may tend to give off a rather unsettling effect on the listener, but it's this unpredictability in which its strength lies) quite aerial Guitaring throughout its 9.46 duration, with some heavy double-kick drumming toward the end build-up. It really is a composition that feels out of place, out of time and out of context with most things going on at the time, but remains a very inspired piece of Prog.



  2. dear drago
    dead link, i love guru guru, please reload again
    Thanks Gerd


  3. File Unavailable

    This file is no longer available due to an unexpected error. If you are the owner of this file, it will need to be re-uploaded.

    Please contact support if you require further assistance.