Sunday, February 1, 2015

Chariot - 1968 - Chariot


01. Yolanda Jones
02. You Let Me Love You
03. Gamblin' Man
04. The War Is Over
05. Home Wreckin' Mama
06. Hey People
07. Variety Woman
08. Got To Be A Lover
09. Poor Man Blues

*Michael Kaplan - Vocals, Guitar
*Pug Baker - Drums
*Larry Gould - Vocals, Bass

Hard rocking US power trio spun off from '66-'68 Los Angeles Knack. Dates of release are usually given as 1968, but it is believed to have been as late as 1971 Straight forward, hard rock with soulful raspy vocals, tight playing, tight songs Hard rocking, not really psychy.

A mainstream play at a radio friendly Grand Funk/ James Gang sound Guitar playing is tasteful, and in service to the song, therefore, no long crazed solos Overall, a solid and enjoyable late 60's/early 70's hard rock album.

1 comment: