Saturday, February 28, 2015

Aquelarre - 1975 - Siesta


01. Pájaro De La Locura
02. Árboles Caídos Para Siempre
03. Canto Cetrino
04. Siesta Cambiada
05. Cacería En El Bosque
06. Savia De Los Aromos
07. El Hombre Cercano

- Emilio del Güercio / bass, vocals
- Héctor Stark / guitar, vocals
- Hugo González Neira / keyboards, vocals
- Rodolfo Garcia / drums, vocals

 In October 1975, Siesta was released, along with a 7" featuring a non-LP b-side. The album had a stronger symphonic style, with heavier use of keyboards and synthesizers.

click to enlargeSiesta has its great moments, like "Pájaro de la locura", "Canto cetrino" or "Cacería en el bosque", but falls short when compared to their the previous releases.

Once settled in Spain, Aquelarre played intensively in Barcelona, Ibiza and Madrid, but they only cut one instrumental track ("Mágico y natural") for a compilation album of Spanish groups in 1977 (Ni lo uno ni lo otro, sino todo lo contrario - Beverly Records L30017).

Disappointed, the group decided to split. They planned a farewell concert in Buenos Aires, but González Neira refused to return to Argentina. The concert was held anyway, with former Pescado Rabioso Carlos Cutaia on keyboards, at the huge Luna Park Stadium. (Actually, their very last performance took place a few days later –on March 16th 1977– at the Nueva Estela Theatre in Montevideo, Uruguay).

Héctor Starc and Rodolfo García later joined bass player Machi Rufino (ex-Invisible) to form Tantor, a jazz-rock oriented group which released two LPs (Tantor and Mágico y natural). Emilio del Güercio recorded a good intimate local-flavoured solo album in 1983 (Pintada - Microfón SUPS 80236).

1 comment: