Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Chris Braun Band - 1971 - Both Sides

Chris Braun Band
Both Sides

01. Town Of Children's Blocks (4:58)
02. Comfort Me In Hell (2:10)
03. Untrue World (2:12)
04. Magical Light (2:50)
05. Anxiety (6:54)
06. Paul (4:17)
07. Icy Shapes (6:15)
08. Things For You And Me (5:14)
09. April Fool (0:11)

- Bill Bakine/ drums, percussion
- Jochen Bernstein/ bass
- Chris Braun / lead vocals
- Elmar Krohn / guitars, flute, percussion, vocals
- Horst Schreiber/ guitars, percussion, vocals

CHRIS BRAUN BAND are a Krautrock group based in Dortmund, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany who disappeared from the scene after 2 album releases. In 1972 "Both Sides" featured Bill Bakine on drums, percussion, Jochen Bernstein on bass, Chris Braun on lead vocals, Elmar Krohn on guitars, flute, percussion, vocals, and Horst Schreiber on guitars, percussion, and vocals. In 1973 the heavy rock, jazz and psych album "Foreign Lady" featured again Chris Braun on vocals, joined by Bernstein's bass, Krohn's drums, and newcomers to the group Bernd Adamkewitz on guitar, and saxophone, and Klaus Melchers on piano, moog, and mellotron. The guest musicians on the album include Linda Fields on backing vocals, choir, Peter Hast on percussion and Jiggs Wigham on trombone.

They also released two 7" singles in the seventies that have over the years become rare vinyl collector's items. Chris Braun wrote the songs, sung for the band and was founder of the group. Her gravelly voice may be compared to Inga Rumpf of FRUMPY. Her songs are a combination of folk-rock, jazz-fusion, heavy blues and hard rock.

1 comment: