Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Chameleon - 1979 - Chameleon


01. Grubnello
02. Grass    
03. Berufsverbot    
04. Die Drei Phasen
05. Transaction    
06. Spass Im Fass (Fun In The Ton)    
07. Die Konsequenz    
08. Die Gewalt    

Knut Rössler (tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, lyricon)
Joachim Essig (piano, synthesizer, string ensemble)
Roland Herbe (bass, piccolo)
Ralph Dietze (drums)

Recorded January 1979 at Tonstudio Bauer, Ludwigsburg.

Standard issue Euro fusion, with soprano sax leads and a warm, sunny texture. Opening track has some fuzz bass and a lead flute line, whereas the opener on side two is a smoker - as we witness the drummer going off on the drum kit in a proto death metal way. These two tracks save this from being a totally mundane affair. On the same Heidelberg based label as the more known symphonic group Pancake.

1 comment: