Friday, November 21, 2014

Monte Dunn & Karen Cruz - 1969 - Monte Dunn & Karen Cruz

Monte Dunn & Karen Cruz
Monte Dunn & Karen Cruz

01. Never In My Life
02. Order To Things
03. You Don't Smile Much
04. Loving You
05. Self Satisfaction
06. Outside Looking In
07. Lullabye
08. So Much Lovin’
09. Tip Of My Mind
10. Yellow Cab

As one of the leading US session guitarists of the 1960s, Monte Dunn will need no introduction to fans of Tim Hardin, Fred Neil, Richie Havens and many others. In partnership with his wife, New Orleans native Karen Cruz, he also released this glorious collection of mellow folk-rock in 1969, with contributions from a galaxy of fellow session stars including Bruce Langhorne (guitar), Paul Griffin (keyboards), Eric Weissberg (banjo) and Hal Blaine (drums). It makes its CD debut here, complete with its original press release, and is an essential purchase for all fans of 1960s folk-rock.

“Excellent folk-rock / country-rock, with good vocal harmonies and musical accompaniment. It has a nice, laid-back, late 60s vibe and some well written love, nature, and anti-war songs” – playitagainmax

“Some cuts have an understated pop / folk-rock touch, with an appealing sense of longing, somewhat haunting melodies, and harmonic blends… The highlight is ‘Tip of My Mind’, on which the harmonies really attain a rich, melancholy pungency” –

1 comment: