Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Fred Neil - 1957-1961 - Trav'lin Man: The Early Singles

Fred Neil
Trav'lin Man: The Early Singles

01. You Ain't Treatin' Me Right
02. Don't Put The Blame On Me
03. Listen Kitten
04. Take Me Back Again
05. Heartbreak Bound
06. Trav’lin Man
07. Love's Funny
08. Secret, Secret
09. Slipping Around
10. You Don't Have To Be A Baby To Cry
11. Rainbow And A Rose
12. Four Chaplains

As the author of standards including The Dolphins, Everybody’s Talkin’ and Other Side To This Life, Fred Neil needs no introduction to music fans. But before becoming a folksinger and profound influence on Bob Dylan, Tim Buckley, John Sebastian and others, he worked as a jobbing singer, songwriter and session musician around New York. His early songs were recorded by artists including Buddy Holly and Roy Orbison, but his own six pop and rockabilly singles, released between 1957 and 1961, sold in tiny quantities and have rarely been heard since. They are gathered here for the first time ever, offering a fascinating and historically important insight into one of the most celebrated singer-songwriters of all time.

“A singer blessed with an impossibly resonant baritone without equal in music, and the writer of songs that will live as long as music itself” – Mojo

“Between 1957 and 1963 Fred Neil put out a half-dozen scarce singles for a variety of major and minor labels…” – Richie Unterberger, Urban Spacemen & Wayfaring Strangers

Tracks 5 & 6 arranged and conducted by Don Costa. Tracks 8 & 9 arranged and conducted by Chuck Sagle

1 comment: