Saturday, October 18, 2014

Assagai - 1971 - Assagai


01. Telephone Girl
02. Akasa
03. Hey Jude
04. Cocoa
05. Irin Ajolawa
06. Ayieo
07. Beka
08. I'll Wait For You

Alto Saxophone – Dudu Pukwana
Bass Guitar – Charles Ononogbo
Cornet – Mongezi Feza
Drums – Louis Moholo
Guitar – Fred Coker

Assagai was an Afro-rock band from South Africa, active in the early 1970s in London. It consisted of five members: Louis Moholo, Mongezi Feza, Bizo Muggikana, Fred Coker, and Dudu Pukwana. They recorded for the British label Vertigo Records.

Assagai's self-titled debut album was released in 1971. It was reissued on CD by Repertoire Records in 1994.

Their second and final album, Zimbabwe, was released later in 1971. The album was re-released as LP by Music for Pleasure label, but under a different title, AfroRock.

Both their albums featured songs written by members of Jade Warrior and also included guest appearances from them as well.

In the 1960s, Pukwana, Feza and Moholo were also members of the jazz band The Blue Notes.



  2. This one seems down, can you reupload, please?

  3. This one is dead. Can you please reupload it? The other album is really nice. Peace, JV

  4. New LInk

  5. Thank you. I have found more dead links. Do you mind reporting them to you?

    1. please do so!
      I have over 1700 albums posted so I can not keep checking them all the time, so I need to rely on helpful visitors like yourself to tell me... sometimes I'm busy and it takes a couple of days, but I try to replace all confirmed dead links within a week max.

  6. one of my favorite albums, the other album is fabulous